f

Like Us On Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget

Follow us

a

Shop

  /    /  Recommended  /  Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance Paperback – Illustrated, 21 Aug. 2018

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance Paperback – Illustrated, 21 Aug. 2018

In this instant New York Times bestseller, Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent, but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit.” “Inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere” (People).

Category:

Description

The daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of “genius,” Angela Duckworth is now a celebrated researcher and professor. It was her early eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience that led to her hypothesis about what really drives success: not genius, but a unique combination of passion and long-term perseverance.

In Grit, she takes us into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she’s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers–from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll.

“Duckworth’s ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better” (The New York Times Book Review). Among Grit‘s most valuable insights: any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal; grit can be learned, regardless of IQ or circumstances; when it comes to child-rearing, neither a warm embrace nor high standards will work by themselves; how to trigger lifelong interest; the magic of the Hard Thing Rule; and so much more. Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that–not talent or luck–makes all the difference. This is “a fascinating tour of the psychological research on success” (The Wall Street Journal).

Review

Grit is a useful guide for parents or teachers looking for confirmation that passion and persistence matter, and for inspiring models of how to cultivate these important qualities.
–The Washington Post[Blends] anecdote and science, statistic and yarn…Not your grandpa’s self-help book, but Duckworth’s text is oddly encouraging, exhorting us to do better by trying harder, and a pleasure to read.
–Kirkus ReviewsA fascinating tour of the psychological research on success…A great service of Ms. Duckworth’s book is her down-to-earth definition of passion. To be gritty, an individual doesn’t need to have an obsessive infatuation with a goal. Rather, he needs to show ‘consistency over time.’ The grittiest people have developed long-term goals and are constantly working toward them.
–The Wall Street Journal

An informative and inspiring contribution to the literature of success.
–Publishers Weekly

Angela Duckworth [is] the psychologist who has made ‘grit’ the reigning buzzword in education-policy circles…Duckworth’s ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better…In this book, Duckworth, whose TED talk has been viewed more than eight million times, brings her lessons to the reading public.
–Judith Shulevitz, The New York Times Book Review

Engaging…With strong appeal for readers of Daniel H. Pink, Malcolm Gladwell, and Susan Cain, this is a must-have.
–Booklist

If you have recently bumped into that word, grit, Duckworth is the reason…In education and parenting circles, her research has provided a much needed antipode to hovering, by which children are systematically deprived of the opportunity to experience setbacks, much less overcome them…What sticks with you [in Grit] are the testimonials, collected from sources as disparate as Will Smith, William James, and Jeff Bezos’s mom, that relentlessly deflate the myth of the natural.
–The Atlantic

It really isn’t talent but practice–along with passion–that makes perfect, explains psychologist Duckworth in this illuminating book. Inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere.
–People

One of The Hottest Spring Nonfiction Books
–The Wall Street Journal

“This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.”
Dan Heath, co-author of Made to StickSwitch, and Decisive

About the Author

Angela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. She has advised the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. She is also the founder and CEO of Character Lab, a nonprofit whose mission is to advance scientific insights that help kids thrive. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance is her first book and an instant New York Times bestseller.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance Paperback – Illustrated, 21 Aug. 2018”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe To Get Updates.